Numb

I’m standing by the back door and the icy wind is turning my ears red. My ears are throbbing and I’m ripping the thin skin off my lips.

I’m shaking by the open back door and the icy wind is turning my ears red. My head and ears are throbbing and I’m ripping the thin skin off my lips.

I’m alone by the broken back door and the icy wind is turning my ears red. I’m ripping the skin off my lips and I don’t know where you are.

I can’t feel my ears by the back door. The icy wind cools my wet lips. Why is the back door broken?

Where did you go?

The familiar taste of iron seeps into my mouth and I sit on the cold tile of the kitchen floor.

There are shards of glass sprawled across the porcelain.
Snowflakes are turning from white to clear.

Leave a Reply

